you're reading...
APEC, Papua New Guinea

PNG wants to host APEC 2018

Papua New Guinea is making a bid to host the the 26th Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) meeting in 2018.

The National newspaper reports it would be an expensive undertaking, costing at least K230 million (US$107 million), “although China will help.”

To assist PNG prepare for the meeting,China has offered to build a convention centre.
PNG became a member of APEC in 1993 but has not hosted any meeting since.

APEC member nations are Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, USA, Japan, Hong Kong, Korea, China, Peru, Russia, Malaysia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Taiwan, Chile, Canada, and Mexico.


About Samantha Magick

Journalist and editor


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: