you're reading...
labour issues, Nauru, Philippines, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

Philippines bans citizens from working in some Pacific Island countries

The Philippines government has blocked its citizens from working in 41 countries including several Pacific Islands, however few of these countries actually receive overseas Filipino workers.

The Wall Street Journal reports that of the 41 countries listed in a Philippines Overseas Employment Administration resolution announced last week, more than half only received two or fewer Filipino workers last year.

Among those on the list are East Timor, Tuvalu, Nauru, Tonga and Vanuatu.

The government says these and other countries lack proper legal protections for foreign workers.

The Philippines is one of the world’s biggest exporters of labour.


About Samantha Magick

Journalist and editor


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: