you're reading...
Federated States of Micronesia, Fisheries, Marshall Islands, Palau

Marshall Islands and Palau join shark protection efforts

Marshall Islands and Palau have joined a coalition of eight countries that aims to save sharks from extinction through the development of sanctuaries for the endangered animal.

Radio Australia reports that the Federated States of Micronesia, the Bahamas, Colombia, Honduras, the Maldives and Mexico have also signed an agreement to prohibit commercial fishing of sharks in almost three million square kilometres of ocean.

Scientists say sharks are threatened by overfishing and finning.

The eight countries have agreed to sustain and develop shark sanctuaries, stabilise shark populations in international waters and support scientifically proven measures to protect the endangered species.




About Samantha Magick

Journalist and editor


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: