you're reading...
Fiji, United Nations

Name change at UN means higher profile for Pacific Islands

Pacific nations now have a greater profile at the United Nations- in name at least.

The AFP reports that the Asian group of nations at the UN will now be known as the Asia-Pacific Group.

Fiji, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu are part of the re-named group.

Fiji’s UN ambassador Peter Thomson is quoted as saying, ‘It shows that the Pacific island states have come of age at the UN and they are wanting to play their full part and assume their rights and responsibilities.’

UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon will meet many Pacific Island leaders next week at the annual Pacific Islands Forum meeting in Auckland, New Zealand.


About Samantha Magick

Journalist and editor


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: